Are you planning to get your real estate license? Ok, let’s start with the basic Florida real estate license requirements. You have to have at least a high school diploma or GED and be 18 years old. Besides that, there are a couple more things that we will list below. The one thing that is good to remember is to be careful if you are planning to obtain real estate licenses in multiple states. This is because you need to see into each state’s requirements, so keep this in mind. Also, you may need to meet different requirements depending on your field of interest: Real Estate Associate Requirements, Real Estate Broker Requirements, and Real Estate Instructor Requirements.
Florida Real Estate Requirements – Associate
Getting a real estate license is a great way to make money by helping people to buy, sell, and rent properties. You can also connect with moving companies Miami and collaborate together. To successfully fulfill Florida Real Estate Requirements, it all starts with a 63-hour pre-licensing classroom course approved by a Florida Real Estate Commission (FREC). You can choose between an online course or a classroom one. Always choose according to your time and learning capabilities. Of course, carefully look at recommendations for the course and not only the price. When picking a class think about the service it provides. Do they offer live help, tech support, practice tests? Take everything into consideration.
How to start
Imagine how your life will change once you undergo this course. Have a glance at popular house types in Florida. Now that you know what you’re into, let’s see what you need. Before you begin your classes, it would be good to submit a Florida license application. This will help you to avoid delays once you need to obtain your license. This application can be found at the Department of Business and Professional Regulation website. You can complete it online or print it. The fee at this time is 89 USD and can be paid both online or by check. Of course, to finish a 63-hour course, you need to complete its final exam, and then the state’s real estate sales associate license exam. Then you would need to submit a completed application, electronic fingerprints, and the fee.
Electronic fingerprinting is not that hard. Your background check is part of the process and creating electronic fingerprints is easy, quick and painless. Just keep in mind that your fingerprints will remain valid for 1 year. The Florida Department of Law Enforcement maintains a list of acceptable scanning vendors on its website. The good news is that you can schedule to have your fingerprinting on the same day as your exam. And it can be done with the same company that will administer your Real Estate examination.
Choose a broker
In order for your license to be active, you need a broker to sponsor you. This means a signed statement clearly stating that you will be working under the guidance of a licensed broker. This person can be an independent broker or a member of a bigger real estate firm. The broker will serve as your mentor and be responsible for your actions. Of course, you need to pay the broker a monthly fee or to give part of your commission. You can search for a broker at any point. Keep in mind to talk to different brokers and see what is the best option for you as they offer different kinds of services. They can even teach you how to handle long distance house hunting. And that could be pretty useful, right?
Of course, you need to pass the Florida Real Estate Agent Exam with a grade of at least 75 out of 100 points. The other option is to pass the Florida Real Estate Law Exam with a grade of at least 30 out of 40 points. After that, you can activate your Florida real estate license using the DBPR RE 11 form. Or you can ask your employing broker to activate your new license online using their account. This course remains valid for 2 years after completion so your license is valid in that timeframe. Once you finish this, you can start with your real estate career!
Getting a license can help you in your career, but you need to think bigger. If, for example, someone is moving to Fort Lauderdale you can connect their business with yours and get more clients. Besides this, there’s a sales associate 45-hour post-license course. This should be done within the licensee’s first renewal cycle. This date is clearly stated on your license and marks the day your cycle ends.
Real Estate Broker Requirements
Once you finish the sales associate post-license course and have your license for at least 2 years, you can take the state’s broker pre-license course. You need to finish 72-hour of course along with its final exam and after that the state’s real estate broker license exam. After passing the state exam with a grade of 75 or higher, there is also a broker 60-hour post-license course that needs to be finished within the licensee’s first renewal cycle.
Real Estate School Instructor Requirements
For Real Estate School Instructor Requirements you need to hold a valid, Florida broker’s license and a BA degree in a business-related field. You will also need to pass a FREC-approved Instructor Examination. After that, complete a DBRP RE Instructor form. You will also need to continue education with the instruction that FREC prescribed. This is done regarding either instructional techniques or real estate.
In the end, we hope you got a clearer idea of what are Florida real estate license requirements. You can really make good money working in the real estates business… And this may just be the right choice for you. Of course, keep in mind this is just an article of informational type and all the Education and Real Estate Education Requirements can be found on the Department of Business & Professional Regulation website. Good luck!